Need Legal Aid Help? Get Started

Civil Rights & Discrimination

The United States, Ohio and some local governments protect people from discrimination based on “protected classes.”  These categories include race, color, religion (creed), gender, gender expression, age, national origin (ancestry), language, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, or military status.  The law does not protect people from mean, unprofessional, or uncivil behavior, if its not discriminatory in nature.  Some laws provide specific protections, such as the Fair Housing Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act.

  • Ohio Civil Rights Comission (OCRC) & Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
  • Fair Housing Act
  • Americans with Disabilities Act

Don't See What You're Looking For?